Hate kale, love kale chips

When we first planted our veggie patch three years ago, I went hog-wild with kale. I love the stuff, but this was more of a beginner’s mistake than an intentional leafy green fest. That summer and fall I was forced to come up with endless new recipes that called for kale. As my children aren’t as big on this nutritional powerhouse as I am, it was rather a challenge.

But I did have one big hit with the little peeps: kale chips. As my older son says, “I hate kale, but I love kale chips.” Plus, they’re easy to make and with a liberal hand on the olive oil, sea salt and Parmesan they can be crunchy and delicious.

This year, I planted less kale but still have a big harvest so I’m going to lean on my past success with kale chips to take advantage of the bounty. It feels like I’m having to wean my kids off sweets/treats after a summer of slurpies and popsicles and ice cream (hey, it was really hot in these parts)—maybe kale chips in their school lunch will help ease the transition back to healthier fare?

Here’s how I do it.

Ingredients: kale (I like the dinosaur variety for this), olive oil, sea salt, Parmesan cheese

Wash, de-stem and chop kale into smaller pieces (it will shrink when you cook it).

Lightly cover with olive oil. Sprinkle with sea salt and grated Parmesan.

Now spread it on a cookie sheet (give each piece some space or they won’t crisp up) and pop it in an oven preheated to 350. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Voilá. Salty, crispy, yummy kale chips.

{Photos by Andrea Curtis}

Comments Off on Hate kale, love kale chips

Filed under City gardens, Kids and food, School lunch

Comments are closed.