Canned lunch

As the school year draws to a close, I’m finding my packed lunch inspiration finally and truly failing me. Our boys are still getting a few hot lunches every week, but there are also lots and lots of pretty standard sandwiches. It could be worse, I suppose, at least the sandwiches are healthy and our boys will actually eat them. And easy, did I mention easy?

So I get that convenience is a big factor in school lunch. But a sandwich in a can?

Gross. It was last year about this time that the Candwich’s arrival in lunch bags everywhere was slowed by legal troubles, but now the aluminum-encased, highly processed sammies are on the market. “The perfect product for people on the go such as students, construction workers, soccer moms and outdoor enthusiasts,” according to the product’s web page. Really? Students? Soccer moms? Construction workers?!

This week, Bettina Elias Siegel, who blogs about school lunch at The Lunch Tray tasted it so the rest of us don’t have to.

The verdict (as if we didn’t know already): “really gross.” And that’s just the peanut butter and jam variety. BBQ chicken is slated to be released soon.

1 Comment

Filed under Kids and food, School lunch

One response to “Canned lunch

  1. I was glad to take this hit for the “Candwich-curious” out there. Thanks for sharing my link, and I’m so glad to discover your blog. I will contact you offline as I’d really like to know more about your book!

    Bettina at The Lunch Tray
    http://www.thelunchtray.com
    kids and food, in school and out