A very good place to start

I’ve just handed in the final-ish draft of What’s for Lunch? How Schoolchildren Eat Around the World (Kids Can, 2011), and it’s been quite a journey. I’ve been interested in food and food politics for a long time but researching and writing this book has deepened and enriched my understanding of the issues and players  enormously.

Plus, making all of it understandable and engaging for 8-12 year old kids forced me to ask myself what exactly I really knew. I had to slow down and really dissect the issues.

In doing so, I was thrilled to discover a whole world of kids, adults, teachers and activists who helped me make sense of it. A community of people around the planet working hard to make school meals everywhere healthy, accessible and gentle on the environment.

This blog will chronicle some my discoveries, share links and hopefully pictures of school lunches around the world.

I hope that the book and the blog can be used as a tool by people interested in lobbying for healthier school meals—a place for sharing information and ideas.

Comments Off on A very good place to start

Filed under School lunch

Comments are closed.